FAQ

FAQs as well as the respective answers and facts

  1. Direct sales - special discs
  2. What brake pads are best used with Otto Zimmermann brake discs?
  3. Do you need a general operating permit (ABE)?
  4. Professional installation of brake discs and brake pads
  5. Noises
  6. Steering wheel-flutter, pulsating brake pedal
  7. Crack formation
  8. Heat treatment
  9. Rust
  10. Warped brake disc
  11. Run-in notices
  12. Formula Z - brake disc
  13. Behavior in case of complaints
  14. Material quality / high carbon
  15. Turn direction of sports brake discs

1. Direct sales - special discs

Since brake components are safety-related vehicle parts, original Zimmermann brake discs are only sold through wholesalers and specialized shops. There you will also find answers to questions regarding our products.

Do you need specialized brake discs? We can only manufacture such discs according to detailed drawings and in larger quantities (at least 500 units)  Single-unit productions are not possible!

2. What brake pads are best suited for use with Otto Zimmermann brake discs?

We recommend a brake pad from Otto Zimmermann (brake pads with a high degree of comfort), but original or approved brake pads from other manufacturers (with ECE R90 approval) may also be used.

When using other brake pad material, especially sports brake pads with a higher hardness, Otto Zimmermann cannot guarantee an optimal braking function, and the brake disc can thus also be damaged or considerably impaired in its service life expectancy.

Fundamentally, it should be noted that the stressing of this type of wear part is heavily influenced by the individual driving behavior.

3. Do you need a general operating permit (ABE) for your brake disc?

Please contact your dealer for this. Provided there is an ABE issued for this disc and it is also necessary (the appropriate information is available to our distributors), you will need to provide the following information:

This information should be transmitted to us from the dealer and we will immediately send you a new ABE for your sports brake discs.
We kindly ask for your understanding that direct calls to us concerning this topic may not be processed.

Additional information:
In Germany, an ABE for Otto Zimmermann brake discs is only required if the respective brake disc version differs from the OE part, for example, a sports brake disc. Other countries may have different regulations in this regard.

4. Professional installation of brake discs and brake pads

To prevent problems, the brake disc / brake pad change should only be carried out by trained personnel. Fundamentally, the following must be observed:

Brake discs

Wheel hub

Brake pads

Brake calliper

Wheel suspension

Wheel bearings

Steering parts

Wheels / tires

5. Noises

Any squeaking noises are not caused by the brake disc itself! The cause of such resonance noises are other components of the braking system, which directly or indirectly act upon the brake disc. The brake pads should be mentioned as the primary cause if they do not harmonize optimally with the material of the disc due to their composition and / or have not been aligned precisely to the brake disc installation-wise. Another cause of squeaking noises could be from foreign objects that are jammed between the brake disc and brake pad.

Please also read our leaflet regarding this topic

6. Steering wheel-flutter, pulsating brake pedal

Immediately proceed to the nearest specialist service centre if this occurs. A diagnosis is only possible after inspection of the vehicle on the spot. In the following, the most common causes are listed:

7. Crack formation

Fundamentally, Zimmermann brake discs (standard and perforated design) are manufactured according to the respective original replacement part regarding the dimensions and the material used (GFO-ISO9001-TS16949).

Perforated designs were tested for functionality, reliability and wear resistance by TÜV Nord and approved by the Federal Motor Transport Authority for the intended use in production vehicles. The brake discs meet the requirements, which are encountered during routine operation with respect to mechanical and thermal stress.

During the operation of brake discs in modified vehicles, during rally/race driving and/or with an aggressive driving style, the requirements are of course much more demanding in terms of the mechanical and thermal loads placed on the brake discs. This also applies when using race pads.

The formation of net-like or radially extending cracks on perforated brake discs is normal. According to the directive “Requirements for the testing of replacement and special brake discs and drums for vehicles" from the TÜV NORD, these are permitted up to the following values:

If these limits are not exceeded, there is no damage according to the statements of the aforementioned Directive. Larger sized cracks solely occur through mechanical and/or thermal overstress. Reasons for this may include:

8. Heat treatment

Based on the latest developments in the casting technology, the cooling process after moulding is controlled in such a way that the tension relief is already guaranteed from the foundry on. The cost-intensive glowing of the raw or semi-finished parts (>>> slow heating to the annealing temperature, maintaining this temperature for several hours and then slowly re-cooling) can therefore be omitted nowadays.

9. Rust

Zimmermann brake discs are usually made of cast iron (with flake graphite) of different qualities: they correspond to the material used for the original spare parts.

The used iron grades contain very small amounts of corrosion-preventing elements. If products which are made from such materials are exposed to climatic conditions such as rain, fog, high humidity, sleet, or road salt, they tend to corrode after a short period of time. To counteract this effect, all Otto Zimmermann brake discs and brake drums are provided with an anti-corrosion coating.

Since January 2008, Zimmermann is offering a part of its product range with an improved anti-rust coating called "Coat Z". Thus, the non-engaged areas of the brake pads now have a greatly reduced tendency to corrode.

10. Warped brake disc

If vibrations occur under thermal load, the cause is often a "warped brake disc". If the measurement of the brake disc thickness also delivers differing values, the following diagnosis will be regarded as confirmed: Brake disc bent, brake disc "wobbles”, brake disc non-circular, brake disc warped, etc.

But the actual cause of the above stated phenomenon is a different one:

State-of-the-art brake pads are designed for adhesive friction. During a correct run-in braking of the brake disc/pad system a very thin, homogeneous layer of brake pad material is formed through a diffusion processes, on the friction surfaces of the brake disc. Thus there are two friction surfaces (brake disc and pad) which in the marginal zone more or less consist of the same material (particles); a shifting may occur in both directions (diffusion). Thus, the chemical bonds between casting and pad materials can break apart or develop new. This process takes place continuously since there is a smooth transition threshold between the friction surfaces of the brake disc and brake pad.

Failure to observe the brake-in process as well as a non-observance of the run-in phase will cause the formation of uncontrollable and uneven deposits of friction material on the braking surfaces which will result in a partial thermal over stressing of the braking surface. The irregular deposits, which protrude from the surface of the disc will be warmer than the surrounding cast iron. During each contact (once per revolution) of the brake pad with the leading edge of a deposit will increase the temperature at this point. At a temperature between 650° C and 700° C, the cast iron under such a deposit will transition to cementite, and deposits of very hard iron carbide (Fe3C) will form in the crystal lattice of the cast iron. Under very high mechanical and thus thermal loading of the brake, this process is facilitated even more - causing an escalation effect. With an increasing temperature, the cementite will build up and simultaneously penetrate deeper into the brake disc material. Ultimately this process will lead to the above described symptoms, such as rubbing, beating or pulsation of the brake. This can only be remedied through an exchange of the brake discs and brake pads.

It should be noted that the actual cause is not due to a faulty disc. The process described above set into motion through assembly errors, failure to observe the run-in regulations, etc. which damage the originally flawless brake disc.

Additional note:
If you attempt to remove deposits which are not or only barely visible without optical aids through abrasive measures (such as emery cloths, sandpaper, etc.), the condition of the brake disc will worsen even more, since the abrasive particles (mainly alumina) penetrate into the edge layers of the brake disc’s friction surface. For the same reason, these deposits should not removed by sand blasting.

11. Run-in notices

The following run-in notices are recommended to ensure a safe and proper operation of the brake disc / brake pad system:

Perform the run-in processes on road sections that allow for the following maneuvers to be carried out safely and within the provisions of road traffic regulations (StVO).

Violent or shock-braking should be avoided during the first 300 km of travel after the change of the brake discs.

Through a moderate run-in, a gradual warming of the brake disc is performed without creating a heat shock and the friction surfaces of brake disc and brake pad are aligned to each other.

Perform at least 30 brake applications from a medium velocity (approx. 100 km/h) with a moderate deceleration (maximum braking time 3 seconds) down to a velocity of initially 50 km/h, and after about half of the braking cycles were performed down to 25 km/h. Hereby letting the brake disc cool down for approx. 3 min. between the brake cycles through the motion airflow.

If these instructions are not complied with, Zimmermann shall not honour any warranty claims, if this non-compliance causes damage to the product or damages/harm to third parties. Furthermore, a warranty will also not be provided if damages and/or defects occur that are attributable to intensive use and/or individual driving behaviour and/or were caused by non-intended use!

12. Formula Z - Bake Disc

The composite or compound brake disc named "Formula Z" is suitable for motorsport applications due to its special design. In contrast to the fully cast-iron brake disc, the friction ring (cast iron) and hub (aluminum alloy) are connected by steel pins. The resulting, floating construction reduces the thermal buffering of the friction ring in the operating temperature state substantially, because the friction ring can freely expand under thermal stress (e.g. when braking from high speeds or several consecutive brake applications).

The use of the above mentioned aluminium alloy also considerably reduces the unsprung masses on the vehicle.

13. Behavior in case of complaints

Brake discs are cast and machined. There may be hidden defects that we can not detect, despite our high-quality production. Complaints are only handled through the dealer from which the products were purchased.

Warranty claims are "rights under the purchase agreement”. We therefore kindly ask you to understand that these can not be accepted as a complaint by us directly. The responsible dealer will contact Otto Zimmerman and forward your matter accordingly.

14. Material quality / “high carbon”

Zimmermann brake discs are usually made of cast iron (with flake graphite) of different qualities; they correspond to the material used for the original spare parts. Therefore, the utilization of such materials (referred to as "High Carbon” by the competition) has always been a matter of course for Otto Zimmermann.

15. Turn direction of sports brake discs

The turn direction of our sports brake discs is not static. Production-wise, opposing drilling patterns are specified in part (e.g. brake discs with curved fins). Brake discs running in opposite directions (right / left) generally do not cause any technical effect. Directionally bound brake discs are only found in very few vehicles - mostly due to technical design issues.

FAQs

Häufig gestellte Fragen und deren Antworten

  1. Direktverkauf - Sonderscheiben

  2. Welche Bremsbeläge verwendet man am besten mit Otto Zimmermann-Bremsscheiben?

  3. Benötigen Sie eine Allgemeine Betriebserlaubnis (ABE)?

  4. Fachgerechter Einbau von Bremsscheiben und Bremsbelägen

  5. Geräusche

  6. Lenkrad-Flattern, pulsierendes Bremspedal

  7. Rissbildung

  8. Wärmebehandlung

  9. Rost

  10. Verzogene Bremsscheibe

  11. Einfahrhinweise

  12. Formula Z - Bremsscheibe

  13. Verhalten bei Reklamation

  14. Materialqualität / High Carbon (hochgekohlt)

  15. Laufrichtung von Sport-Bremsscheiben

1. Direktverkauf - Sonderscheiben

Da es sich bei Bremsenkomponenten um sicherheitsrelevante Fahrzeugteile handelt, werden Original Zimmermann-Bremsscheiben nur über den Groß- und Fachhandel vertrieben. Dort werden Ihnen auch Fragen zu unseren Produkten beantwortet.

Benötigen Sie spezielle Bremsscheiben? Wir können solche nur nach detaillierter Zeichnung und in größeren Stückzahlen (mind. 500 Stk.) fertigen.  Einzelanfertigungen sind nicht möglich!!

2. Welche Bremsbeläge verwendet man am besten mit Otto Zimmermann Bremsscheiben?

Wir empfehlen einen Bremsbelag von Otto Zimmermann (Bremsbelag mit hohem Komfort), es können aber auch Original- bzw. freigegebene Bremsbeläge von anderen Herstellern (mit ECE R90 Zulassung) verwendet werden.

Bei Verwendung anderen Bremsbelagmaterials, insbesondere Sport-Bremsbeläge höherer Härte, kann seitens Otto Zimmermann eine optimale Bremsfunktion nicht gewährleistet werden; die Bremsscheibe kann hierdurch auch beschädigt bzw. in ihrer Lebensdauer erheblich beeinträchtigt werden.

Grundsätzlich ist zu berücksichtigen, dass die Belastung dieser Art von Verschleißteil erheblich vom individuellen Fahrverhalten beeinflusst wird.

3. Benötigen Sie eine Allgemeine Betriebserlaubnis (ABE) für Ihre Bremsscheibe?

Bitte wenden Sie sich hierzu an Ihren Händler. Vorausgesetzt, es ist eine ABE für diese Bremsscheiben erstellt worden und notwendig (die entsprechende Information liegt unseren Händlern vor), benötigt er von Ihnen folgende Informationen:

Diese Informationen soll uns der Händler zukommen lassen und wir werden Ihnen umgehend eine neue ABE für Ihre Sportbremsscheiben zusenden.
Wir bitten um Verständnis, dass direkte Anfragen bei uns bezüglich dieses Themas nicht bearbeitet werden dürfen und die ABE nur auf dem Postweg versandt wird.

Zusätzliche Information:
Eine ABE ist in Deutschland bei Otto Zimmermann-Bremsscheiben nur dann vonnöten, wenn es sich bei der jeweiligen Bremsscheibe um eine vom OE-Teil abweichende Version handelt, z.B. um eine Sport-Bremsscheibe. In anderen Ländern gelten zum Teil hiervon abweichende Regelungen.

4. Fachgerechter Einbau von Bremsscheiben und Bremsbelägen 

Um Problemen vorzubeugen, sollte der Bremsscheiben- / Bremsbelag-Wechsel nur durch geschultes Fachpersonal erfolgen.

Grundsätzlich ist dabei bitte folgendes zu beachten:

Bremsscheiben

Radnabe

Bremsbeläge

Bremssattel

Radaufhängung

Radlager

Lenkungsteile

Räder / Reifen

5. Geräusche

Etwaige Quietsch-Geräusche entstehen nicht durch die Bremsscheibe selbst! Auslöser solcher Resonanzgeräusche sind andere Komponenten des Bremssystems, welche auf die Bremsscheibe mittel- bzw. unmittelbar einwirken. Primär sind als Ursache die Bremsbeläge zu nennen, falls diese aufgrund ihrer Zusammensetzung nicht optimal mit dem Werkstoff der Bremsscheibe harmonieren und / oder montagetechnisch nicht exakt zur Bremsscheibe ausgerichtet wurden. Eine weitere Ursache für das Entstehen von Quietsch-Geräuschen könnten Fremdkörper sein, die sich zwischen Bremsscheibe und Bremsbelag verklemmt haben.

Lesen Sie hierzu auch unser Merkblatt

6. Lenkrad-Flattern, pulsierendes Bremspedal

Suchen Sie unter allen Umständen die nächste Fachwerkstatt auf. Eine Diagnose ist nur nach Begutachtung des Fahrzeuges vor Ort möglich.

Im Folgenden sind die häufigsten Ursachen genannt:

7. Rissbildung

Grundsätzlich werden Zimmermann-Bremsscheiben (Standard und perforierte Ausführung) hinsichtlich der Dimensionierung und des verwendeten Werkstoffs entsprechend dem jeweiligen Original-Ersatzteil gefertigt (GFO-ISO9001-TS16949).

Perforierte Ausführungen wurden bezüglich Funktionsfähigkeit, Betriebssicherheit und Verschleißverhalten durch den TÜV Nord getestet und durch das Kraftfahrtbundesamt für den bestimmungsgemäßen Einsatz in Serienfahrzeugen freigegeben; die Bremsscheiben genügen den Anforderungen, welche bei zweckbestimmtem Einsatz hinsichtlich mechanischer und thermischer Beanspruchung üblicherweise gestellt sind.

Beim Betreiben von Bremsscheiben in getunten Fahrzeugen, im Ralley- / Renneinsatz und / oder entsprechender Fahrweise werden naturgemäß wesentlich höhere Anforderungen bezüglich mechanischer und thermischer Belastbarkeit an die Bremsscheiben gestellt. Dies gilt ebenso bei Einsatz von Rennbelägen.

Ein Auftreten radial bzw. netzartig verlaufender Risse bei perforierten Bremsscheiben ist normal. Gemäß Richtlinie „Anforderungen für die Prüfung von Ersatz- u. Sonder-Bremsscheiben und -trommeln für Fahrzeuge" des TÜV NORD sind diese bis zur folgenden Größenordnung zulässig:

Werden diese Grenzwerte nicht überschritten, liegt kein Schadensbild im Sinne der genannten Richtlinie vor. Größer dimensionierte Risse entstehen ausschließlich durch mechanische und / oder thermische Überbeanspruchung. Ursachen hierfür können sein:

8. Wärmebehandlung

Aufgrund neuester Entwicklungen in der Gusstechnik, wird der Abkühlprozess nach dem Gießen so gesteuert, dass die Spannungsfreiheit der Rohteile schon seitens der Gießerei gewährleistet wird. Das kostenintensive Glühen der Roh- bzw. Halbfertigteile (>>> langsames Erwärmen auf Glühtemperatur, Halten dieser Temperatur über mehrere Stunden und anschließendes langsames Wiederabkühlen) kann daher heutzutage entfallen.

9. Rost

Zimmermann-Bremsscheiben werden in der Regel aus Grauguss (mit Lamellengraphit) verschiedener Qualitäten hergestellt; sie entsprechen dem jeweiligen Werkstoff der Original-Ersatzteile.

Die zum Einsatz kommenden Guss-Qualitäten enthalten nur sehr geringe Anteile an Korrosion mindernden Legierungselementen. Sind Produkte aus solchen Werkstoffen klimatischen Bedingungen wie z. B. Regen, Nebel, hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit, Schneematsch oder Tausalz ausgesetzt, neigen diese bereits nach kurzer Zeit zu Korrosion. Um diesem Effekt entgegen zu wirken, werden grundsätzlich alle Otto Zimmermann-Bremsscheiben und -Bremstrommeln mit einer Anti-Korrosions-Beschichtung versehen.

Seit Januar 2008 bietet Zimmermann einen Teil seines Lieferprogramms mit einer verbesserten Anti-Rost-Beschichtung namens „Coat Z" an. Damit wird im Nichteingriffsbereich der Bremsbeläge eine deutlichere Reduzierung der Neigung zu Korrosion gewährleistet.

10. Verzogene Bremsscheibe

Treten bei thermischer Belastung Vibrationen auf, wird häufig als Ursache eine „verzogene Bremsscheibe" genannt. Erhält man zudem beim Messen der Bremsscheiben-Dicke unterschiedliche Messwerte, scheint folgende Diagnose bestätigt: Bremsscheibe krumm, Bremsscheibe „eiert", Bremsscheibe unrund, Bremsscheibe verzogen etc.

Die eigentliche Ursache des oben genannten Phänomens ist jedoch eine andere:

Bremsbeläge der aktuellen Generation sind für adhäsive Reibung konzipiert. Beim korrekten Einbremsen des Systems Bremsscheibe / Bremsbelag bildet sich aufgrund von Diffusionsvorgängen eine sehr dünne, homogene Schicht aus Belagswerkstoff auf den Reibflächen der Bremsscheibe. Somit bestehen beide Reibflächen (Scheibe und Belag) in den Randzonen mehr oder weniger aus demselben Material; es kann ein Übergang von Werkstoffpartikeln (Diffusion) in beide Richtungen erfolgen. Dadurch können die chemischen Bindungen zwischen Guss- und Belagswerkstoff aufbrechen oder neu entstehen. Dieser Vorgang findet kontinuierlich statt, da der Übergang an der Grenze zwischen den Reibflächen von Bremsscheibe und Bremsbelag fließend ist.

Bei Nichtbeachtung der Einbremsprozedur sowie Nichteinhaltung der Einfahrphase bilden sich unkontrollierbare und ungleichmäßige Ablagerungen des Reibwerkstoffes auf den Bremsflächen, die eine partielle thermische Überbeanspruchung der Bremsfläche zur Folge haben; die ungleichmäßigen Ablagerungen, welche aus der Oberfläche der Scheibe herausstehen, werden wärmer, als das sie umgebende Gusseisen. Bei jedem Kontakt (pro Umdrehung einmal) des Belages mit der vorderen Kante einer Ablagerung erhöht sich die Temperatur an dieser Stelle. Bei einer Temperatur von 650° C bis 700° C wandelt sich das Gusseisen unter einer solchen Ablagerung in Zementit um, im Kristallgitter des Gusseisens bilden sich Einlagerungen von sehr hartem Eisenkarbid (Fe3C). Bei sehr starker mechanischer und somit auch thermischer Beanspruchung der Bremse wird dieser Prozess immer weiter unterstützt – er schaukelt sich auf. Mit steigender Temperatur dringt der Zementit bei gleichzeitiger Zunahme der Menge tiefer in das Bremsscheibenmaterial ein. Letztendlich führt dieser Vorgang zu den oben genannten Symptomen wie Rubbeln, Pulsieren oder Schlagen der Bremse. Abhilfe kann dann nur ein Erneuern der Bremsscheiben und Bremsbeläge bringen.

Festzuhalten ist, dass die eigentliche Ursache nicht in einer fehlerhaften Bremsscheibe begründet ist. Der oben beschriebene Prozess wird aufgrund von Montagefehlern, Nichtbeachten der Einfahrvorschriften etc. in Gang gesetzt und die ursprünglich einwandfreie Bremsscheibe geschädigt.

Zusätzlicher Hinweis:
Will man Ablagerungen, welche ohne optische Hilfsmittel in der Regel kaum bzw. gar nicht sichtbar sind, durch abrasive Maßnahmen (z. B. Schmirgelleinen, Schmirgelpapier o. ä.) entfernen, würde sich der Zustand der Bremsscheibe zusätzlich verschlechtern, da hierdurch Partikel der Schleifkörper (vornehmlich Aluminiumoxid) in die Randschichten der Reibfläche der Bremsscheibe eindringen. Aus gleichem Grund sollten diese Ablagerungen auch nicht mittels Sandstrahlen entfernt werden.

11. Einfahrhinweise

Folgende Einfahrhinweise werden empfohlen, um eine sichere, einwandfreie Funktion des Systems Bremsscheibe / Bremsbelag zu gewährleisten:

Einfahrvorgänge auf Straßenabschnitten durchführen, welche die nachfolgend aufgeführten Fahrmanöver sicher und innerhalb der Regelungen gemäß StVO erlauben.

Gewalt- bzw. Schock-Bremsungen sind während der ersten 300 km Fahrstrecke nach dem Wechsel der Bremsscheiben zu vermeiden.

Durch moderates Einfahren erfolgt eine schrittweise Erwärmung der Bremsscheibe ohne Wärmeschock und die Anpassung der Reibflächen von Bremsscheibe und Bremsbelag zueinander.

Mindestens 30 Bremsungen aus mittlerer Geschwindigkeit (ca. 100 km/h) bei mäßiger Verzögerung (maximale Bremsdauer 3 Sekunden) auf anfangs 50 km/h, nach ungefähr der Hälfte der Bremsungen auf 25 km/h, durchführen. Dabei Bremsscheibe zwischen den einzelnen Bremszyklen ca. 3 Minuten über den Fahrtwind abkühlen lassen.

Bei Nichtbeachtung dieser Hinweise übernimmt Zimmermann keine Gewährleistung, wenn dadurch Schäden am Produkt entstehen, Dritte geschädigt werden oder zu Schaden kommen. Ferner wird ebenfalls keine Gewährleistung übernommen, wenn Schäden und / oder Mängel auftreten, die ursächlich auf intensive Nutzung und / oder individuelles Fahrverhalten zurück zu führen sind und / oder durch nicht zweckbestimmten Einsatz verursacht wurden!

12. Formula Z - Bremsscheibe

Die Verbund- oder auch Compound-Bremsscheibe namens „Formula Z" ist auf Grund ihrer speziellen Bauweise für den sportlichen Einsatz geeignet. Im Gegensatz zur Vollguss-Bremsscheibe sind Reibring (Grauguss) und Topf (Aluminium-Legierung) über Stahlstifte verbunden. Die sich hieraus ergebende, schwimmend gelagerte Konstruktion verringert das Schirmen des Reibrings im betriebswarmen Zustand erheblich, weil sich der Reibring bei thermischer Belastung (z.B. beim Bremsen aus hoher Geschwindigkeit oder mehreren Bremsungen hintereinander) ungehindert ausdehnen kann.

Der Einsatz der o. g. Aluminium-Legierung verringert zudem die ungefederten Massen am Fahrzeug erheblich.

13. Verhalten bei Reklamation

Bremsscheiben werden gegossen und bearbeitet. Es können versteckte Mängel auftreten, die wir trotz unserer qualitativ hochwertigen Produktion nicht erkennen können. Reklamationen werden nur über den Händler abgewickelt, bei welchem die Produkte gekauft wurden.

Bei Garantiefällen handelt es sich um „Rechte aus dem Kaufvertrag"; wir bitten daher um Verständnis, dass diese bei uns nicht direkt als Reklamation angenommen werden können. Der zuständige Händler wird sich mit Otto Zimmermann in Verbindung setzen und Ihre etwaige Reklamation weiterleiten.

14. Materialqualität / „High Carbon" (hochgekohlt)

Zimmermann-Bremsscheiben werden in der Regel aus Grauguss (mit Lamellengraphit) verschiedener Qualitäten hergestellt; sie entsprechen dem jeweiligen Werkstoff der Original-Ersatzteile. Daher ist der Einsatz z. B. hochgekohlter Werkstoffe (vom Wettbewerb auch „High Carbon" genannt) für Otto Zimmermann seit jeher eine Selbstverständlichkeit.

15. Laufrichtung von Sportbremsscheiben

Die Laufrichtung unserer Sportbremsscheiben ist nicht gebunden. Fertigungstechnisch sind gegenläufige Bohrbilder zum Teil vorgegeben (z. B. bei  Bremsscheiben mit gebogenen Rippen). Gegenläufige Bremsscheiben (rechts / links) haben in der Regel keinerlei technische Auswirkungen. Richtungsgebundene Bremsscheiben finden sich nur in sehr wenigen Fahrzeugen – meist aufgrund design-technischer Belange.